Time to upgrade your free Lavasoft Ad-Adware anti-spyware software

Lavasoft Ad-Adware SE Personal edition is one of my long-time favorite free anti-spyware software. However, when I tried to update the definitions today, it gave me a rather nondescript error showing a progress of “5%…Error”. Huh, maybe the update server is down, so I tried it again (like 5 times). Each time I got the same error. So I did a search and discovered that the error is caused by an old version of the software having expired and the solution is to

  1. Uninstall the old version
  2. Clean out temp files, click start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Disk Cleanup > select Temp.Files / Temp.Internet Files / Recycle Bin > run
  3. Install the new 2007 version

I wish the error message has simply told me that I need to upgrade my software, pffft. All is well now. A side benefit of upgrading the software is the new UI, I like it.

BTW, I also occasionally run several other free anti-spyware programs because there is no one perfect solution. It is best to use a combination of anti-spyware programs to catch those sneaky hackers. I have been known to use the following anti-spyware / rootkit software (all are free): Spybot Search & Destroy, AVG Anti-Rootkit Free, Comodo Malware, Microsoft Windows Defender, Hazard Shield, and HijackThis. The list does not include anti-virus or firewall software, that’s for another post.

If you like the blog, please link to my blog, subscribe to the feed, and leave your comments, I love hearing from my readers.

Unless stated otherwise, I am not affiliated with products, companies, or services referred to in my blogs.

2 Responses to Time to upgrade your free Lavasoft Ad-Adware anti-spyware software

  1. Thanks for the great tip. I use Lavasoft spyware removal and am having some issues. I will have to try your tip.

    Thanks again

    Pat

  2. Adithya says:

    nice informative article..i will be happy if you can take time and comment on mine.

    Top 3 Freeware Anti-Spyware tools

Leave a comment